Party Leadership

The Republican Party of Orange County is governed by the men and women of the Central Committee. These are Orange County residents elected by their communities to represent them in their party for four-year terms.

The Central Committee meets every third Monday of the month and the public is invited to attend.


unnamed-4-200x300.jpgHon. Fred M. Whitaker

Chairman – Republican Party of Orange County

Hon. Fred Whitaker was unanimously elected as Chairman of the Republican Party of Orange County in 2015. He is a longtime Republican Party volunteer and previously served as Vice Chairman and Parliamentarian. Chairman Whitaker was elected to the Orange City Council in 2010 and reelected in 2014. He is Managing Partner at Cummins & White, LLP in Newport Beach where he specializes in corporate counsel, business transactions, real estate and estate planning. Chairman Whitaker and his wife, Mignon, met in 1987 at the California Republican Party Convention in Anaheim. They have three children – Jayne, Anne and Jack.




First Vice Chair – John Park

Second Vice Chair – Tj Fuentes

Secretary – Gisela Contreras

Treasurer – Erik Weigand 

Assistant Treasurer – Anthony Johnson

Parliamentarian – Kermit Marsh

Sergeant At Arms – Tim Whitacre


Each District Committee is comprised of six elected members, who are voted upon every four years. Ex-officio members (listed below in italics) are current elected officials serving in office or candidates who qualified as the only Republican candidate after a “top-two” first round election.



55th Assembly District

Representing Brea, La Habra, Placentia, and Yorba Linda.

Member Hon. Tim Shaw La Habra
Member Hon. Rhonda Shader Placentia
Member Hon. Brett R. Barbre Yorba Linda
Member Hon. Gene Hernandez Yorba Linda
Member Hon. Craig Young Yorba Linda
Member Anthony Johnson Yorba Linda

65th Assembly District

Anaheim, Buena Park, Cypress, Fullerton, Garden Grove, La Palma, Stanton

Member Baron Night Buena Park
Member Hon. Nick Dunlap Fullerton
Member Hon. Leroy Mills Cypress
Member Katie Cawelti Anaheim
Member Steven Mauss Cypress
Member Gretchen Cox Fullerton

68th Assembly District

Anaheim, Irvine, Lake Forest, Orange, Tustin, North Tustin, Santa Ana, Villa Park

Member Hon. Todd Spitzer Orange
Member Benjamin Yu Lake Forest
Member Hon. Fred M. Whitaker Orange
Member Mark William Bucher Santa Ana
Member Hon. Austin Lumbard Tustin
Member John Park Irvine 

69th Assembly District

Anaheim, Garden Grove, Orange, Santa Ana

Member Brian Harrington Anaheim
Member Timothy Whitacre Santa Ana
Member Thomas Anthony Gordon Santa Ana
Member Gisela Contreras Santa Ana
Member Hon. Cecilia Iglesias Santa Ana
Member Hon. Alberta Christy Santa Ana

72nd Assembly District

Fountain Valley, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach, Los Alamitos, Midway City, Rossmoor, Santa Ana, Seal Beach, Westminster

Member Hon. Andrew Do Westminster
Member Amy West Westminster
Member Hon. Kermit Marsh Westminster
Member Hon. Jeff Barke Rossmoor
Member Hon. Patrick Harper Fountain Valley
Member Brian Burley  Huntington Beach

73rd Assembly District

Aliso Viejo, Coto de Caza, Dana Point, Ladera Ranch, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Las Flores, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano

Member Hon. Diane Harkey Dana Point
Member Jennifer Beall Rancho Santa Margarita
Member Ray Gennawey Laguna Niguel 
Member Hon. Mike Munzing Aliso Viejo 
Member Hon. Lisa Bartlett Dana Point
Member Hon. Ed Sachs Mission Viejo

74th Assembly District

Costa Mesa, Huntington Beach, Irvine, Laguna Beach, Laguna Woods, Newport Beach

Member Emily Sanford Huntington Beach
Member Hon. Will O'Neill Newport Beach
Member Erik Weigand Newport Beach
Member Thomas A. “T.J.” Fuentes Newport Beach
Member Hon. Mike Carroll Irvine
Member Kelly Ernby Huntington Beach 
  Ex-Officio Members  
Ex-Officio   Konstantinos Roditis Anaheim
Ex-Officio   Hon. Young Kim  Fullerton
Ex-Officio   Hon. Greg Raths Mission Viejo
Ex-Officio   James Waters Anaheim
Ex-Officio   Hon. John Briscoe Huntington Beach
Ex-Officio    Hon. Michelle Steel Seal Beach
Ex-Officio    Hon. Brian Maryott San Juan Capistrano
Ex-Officio    Hon. Ling Ling Chang  Diamond Bar
Ex-Officio    Rita Topalian Whittier
Ex-Officio    Hon. Janet Nguyen Fountain Valley
Ex-Officio    Hon. John Moorlach Costa Mesa
Ex-Officio    Hon. Pat Bates Laguna Niguel
Ex-Officio    Hon. Phillip Chen Yorba Linda
Ex-Officio    Cynthia Thacker Fullerton
Ex-Officio    Hon. Steven Choi Irvine
Ex-Officio    Hon. Laurie Davies Laguna Niguel
Ex-Officio Hon. Diane Dixon Newport Beach
Ex-Officio Jon Paul White Santa Ana